Book now
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
Editorial

The Dolder Grand presents: «The Mysterious Collision»

Pure elegance, unique moments and a love story that exudes a modern yet mystical magic. The Dolder Grand presents «The Mysterious Collision», a film just under two minutes long that was created in late 2021 by director Jannis Davi and beautifully showcases the inimitable elegance of the famous five-star hotel. It tells the story of two lovers experiencing the full mystique and unique facets of this legendary hotel, while also leaving the viewer with some interpretive scope.

By The Dolder Grand January. 13, 2022
PLAY PAUSE
Mute Sound

The story

«We decided to tell the story of a couple. It is an abstract interpretation representing the inner journey of the protagonists», the director explains. «With its air of mystery, the film is designed to inspire the viewer to want to find out more about the hotel and explore it for themselves.»

Director Jannis Davi discovered his own, completely different interpretation of this complex network of secrets and the story behind a simple romantic weekend getaway at the hotel, which he was able to skilfully bring to life on screen. He wanted to «take a mysterious approach» with his film. He states that his aim was to make an artistic, highly unconventional promotional film for the hotel – a film that is imbued with a touch of luxury, that inspires people and that conveys unforgettable moments while also providing the opportunity for discovery.

The unconventional hotel film with a luxurious touch

The interplay

The interplay of modern elegance, luxury and high fashion is a central feature of both the film and the hotel itself. Thus, both protagonists are wearing necklaces from the traditional Swiss brand Gübelin, modern trouser suits from Burberry, elegant eveningwear from Maison Gassmann, chic swimwear and suits from Bongénie Grieder, futuristic robes from Mourjjan and breathtaking collector’s items from the Zurich-based jeweller Domeisen.
The Dolder Grand’s world-famous art collection and the surrounding countryside also play a key role in the film; they are both repeatedly presented with great subtlety.
The film showcases some of the hotel’s most iconic artworks, including Salvador Dalí’s famous «Femmes metamorphosées – Les sept arts» created in 1957, and works by Raffael Benazzi and Albert-Ernest Carrier-Belleuse, whose bronze figurine once formed part of the first World’s Fair in Paris.

the music

Ryan Taubert is a US-born composer and producer whose music has featured in film, television, commercials, and the work of artists. Its title “Lux” fits perfectly with the dramaturgy of the video and brings it to life.

Book now
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

The Dolder Grand präsentiert: «The Mysterious Collision»

Pure Eleganz, einzigartige Momente und eine Liebesgeschichte, die einen modernen und gleichzeitig mystischen Zauber ausstrahlt. Das Dolder Grand präsentiert «The Mysterious Collision», einen knapp zwei-minütigen Film, der Ende 2021 unter der Regie von Jannis Davi entstand und die unnachahmliche Eleganz des berühmten 5-Sterne-Hauses wunderschön in Szene setzt. Es wird die Geschichte zweier Liebenden erzählt, die das legendäre Hotel mit all seiner Mystik und seinen einzigartigen Facetten erleben, dem Zuschauer aber auch Raum für Interpretationen lässt.

By The Dolder Grand Januar. 13, 2022

Die Geschichte

«Wir haben uns entschieden, die Geschichte eines Paares zu erzählen. Es ist eine abstrakte Interpretation, die eine innere Reise für die Protagonisten darstellt», sagt der Regisseur. «Der Film soll auf mysteriöse Art und Weise den Gedanken wecken, mehr über das Hotel herauszufinden und es selbst erkunden zu wollen.»

Regisseur Jannis Davi fand in diesem komplexen Netz der Geheimnisse und der Geschichte hinter einem simplen, romantischen Wochenendaufenthalt im Hotel eine ganz andere, zufällige Lesart für sich, die er gekonnt umsetze. Er wolle mit dem Film «einen mystischen Pfad beschreiten.» Es sei sein Ziel gewesen, einen künstlerischen, sehr unkonventionellen Hotelfilm mit einem luxuriösen Touch umzusetzen, der inspiriert und unvergessliche Momente übermittelt, aber auch Raum für Entdeckungen lasse.

Der unkonventionelle Hotelfilm mit dem luxuriösen Touch

Das Zusammenspiel

Das Zusammenspiel aus moderner Eleganz, Luxus und High-Fashion spielt dabei sowohl im Film als auch im Hotel selbst die Hauptrolle. So tragen die beiden Protagonisten luxuriöse Colliers vom Schweizer Traditionshaus Gübelin, moderne Hosenanzüge von Burberry, elegante Abendkleider von Maison Gassmann, chice Bademode und Anzüge von Bongénie Grieder, futuristische Roben von Mourjjan sowie atemberaubende Sammlerstücke vom Zürcher Juwelier Domeisen. Auch die weltberühmte Kunstsammlung des Dolder Grand sowie die umliegende Natur spielen in der Umsetzung eine zentrale Rolle; beides wird immer wieder subtil in Szene gesetzt.
Dabei zeigt der Film einige der ikonischsten Kunstwerke des Hotels, darunter das berühmte Salvador Dali-Werk «Femmes metamorphosées – les sept arts» von 1957 sowie Werke von Raffael Benazzi und Albert Carrier-Belleuse, dessen Bronzefigur einst Teil der ersten Weltausstellung in Paris war.

Die Musik

Ryan Taubert ist ein in den USA geborener Komponist und Produzent, dessen Musik in Film, Fernsehen, Werbung und in der Arbeit von Künstlern zu sehen war. Sein Titel “Lux” passt ideal zur Dramaturgie des Videos und lässt es zum Leben erwecken.