Book now
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

THE GRINNING
MANGA GENERAL

Isn’t Takashi Murakami the artist who printed colourful flowers on Louis Vuitton bags? Precisely. No one juggles art, cult and commerce as masterly as the idiosyncratic Japanese artist.

By Paulina Szczesniak September. 09, 2020

First, the bad news: Takashi Murakami is broke. Nearly, anyway. He said it himself in a video that he posted on Instagram in the middle of July. COVID-19 is to blame, he says, smiling apologetically, for his latest film project (“Jellyfish Eyes, Part 2”) being put on hold. Moreover, artists are just “very foolish people”.

Can it be true? This Japanese man, with his trademark features of John Lennon glasses, goatee and sometimes a plastic octopus by way of headgear, is a full-on celebrity with millions in the bank thanks to his art – bought by ardent fans including Leonardo DiCaprio, Justin Bieber, Pharrell Williams and Drake – but also thanks to his almost Warholesque feel for combining culture and consumption to create a cult following, and capital. Who can forget Murakami’s collaboration with Louis Vuitton, when he sprinkled the ubiquitous monogrammed bags with pink blossoms, plump cherries and wide round eyes? The world of high culture was horrified. Collectors, trendsetters, bohemians and opinion formers, however, loved it, and fans rushed out to buy their own.

It was no coincidence that this balancing act between luxury and low culture was not merely a success for Murakami, but propelled him into pop culture stardom. Trained at the renowned Tokyo Geijutsu Daigaku (University of the Arts) – including a doctorate, too – Murakami targeted his hyper-pop art projectiles from early on at the top galleries, creative centres and bosses of large companies. Control the leaders and the rest will follow.

Takashi Murakami
Takashi Murakami, “Troll’s Umbrella”, 2002, steel, synthetic resin, fibreglass, colour, sand, 255.00 × 140.00 cm

It is certainly very smart and calculated, but there is real ability and knowledge there, too. The matt gold base of his large-format paintings: a tradition passed down through generations of Japanese artists. The abundant mushrooms: a horrific, colourful evocation of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The wide round eyes everywhere: reflecting the “We’re watching you, you’re watching us” attitude of someone who grew up during the Cold War, plus the traumatised, deeply scarred post-war Japan that had to watch as they lagged behind America’s rapidly burgeoning prosperity. And let’s be honest, would the French have permitted an exhibition by a crazy manga genius in the hallowed halls of Versailles (2010) if he were not fully versed in Delacroix, Courbet and Monet?

All of this – fermented, distilled and prettified until it is unrecognisable – comes together in what Murakami calls “superflat”. A mischievous prankster, with a sense of irony. (Or should that be sarcasm?) What else would you call a saccharine anime universe in which everything is just a veneer? And the next question – if you have confronted high culture with an army of hysterically smiling daisies, what else could you do but set up a command centre? It is called Kaikai Kiki Co., Takashi Murakami’s childlike, exuberant HQ, where he reigns as a wily, grinning general, a parallel world where dozens of artists, makers of animation films, sound engineers, designers and PR gurus produce creations in which the cheerful is constantly on the verge of tipping over into the gruesome.

Might the whole HQ tip over? What if it does? A small wave like that will not wash someone like Murakami away. He will surf it! Or he will plunge into it, only to emerge even more peculiar, more mischievous, more provocative. There is no doubt he is capable of holding his breath for as long as he needs to; he recently designed not only clothing for Billie Eilish, but also what is probably her best video. He did the same for Kanye West in 2007 – when Billie was only six.

Takashi Murakami
Takashi Murakami, “Untitled (Gold)”, 1999, acrylic on canvas, mounted on panel, signed and dated, 203.20 × 203.20 cm

Book now
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Der grinsende
Manga-General

Takashi Murakami – ist das nicht der, der farbige Blümchen auf Louis-Vuitton-Taschen druckte? Exakt. Kaum einer jongliert so souverän mit Kunst, Kult und Kommerz wie der eigensinnige Japaner.

By Paulina Szczesniak September. 09, 2020

Die schlechte Nachricht zuerst: Takashi Murakami ist pleite. Fast, jedenfalls. Sagt er selbst in einem Video, das er Mitte Juli auf Instagram gepostet hat. COVID-19 sei schuld daran, meint er da, entschuldigend lächelnd, dass sein neuestes Filmprojekt («Jellyfish Eyes, Part 2») nun auf Eis gelegt werden müsse. Und Künstler seien halt «very foolish people», sehr törichte Menschen.

 

Kann das sein? Der Japaner – Markenzeichen: John-Lennon-Brille, Piratenbart, auch mal einen Plastik-Oktopus als Hut auf dem Kopf – ist schliesslich ein Superstar, millionenschwer dank seiner Kunst, die von Leonardo DiCaprio und Justin Bieber und Pharrell Williams und Drake gekauft wird, und zwar leidenschaftlich, vor allem aber auch dank seines geradezu warholesken Gespürs, wie man Kultur und Konsum so miteinander kreuzt, dass daraus Kult und Kapital hervorgehen. Unvergessen Murakamis Gastspiel bei Louis Vuitton, wo er die ewigen Monogrammtaschen mit rosa Blüten, prallen Kirschen und Glubsch-Äugchen sprenkelte. Die Hochkultur war entsetzt. Die Sammler, Trendsetter, Bohemiens und Meinungsmacher jedoch deckten sich damit ein, und die Fans kauften brav, was übrigblieb.

 

Dass dieser Hochseilakt zwischen Luxus und Trash nicht nur glückte, sondern Murakami geradewegs in den Popkultur-Olymp führte, war natürlich kein Zufall. Ausgebildet an der hoch renommierten Kunstakademie Tokyo Geijutsu Daigaku – inklusive Doktorat, notabene – richtete Murakami seine hyperpoppigen Kunstgeschosse von Beginn weg zielgenau auf Topgalerien, Creative Center und die Chefetagen personalstarker Unternehmen: Wer die Alphatierchen reitet, hat den Rest ohnehin im Sack.

Takashi Murakami
Takashi Murakami, «Troll’s Umbrella», 2002 , Stahl, Kunstharz, Fiberglas, Farbe, Sand, 255,00 × 140,00 cm

Clever kalkuliert ist das, sicher – bloss steckt eben auch Können und Kenntnis dahinter. Der mattgoldene Grund seiner grossformatigen Gemälde: von den Ahnen der japanischen Kunst gelernt. Die wuchernden Pilze: eine grausam bunte Reverenz an Hiroshima und Nagasaki. Die glotzenden Äuglein überall: Da weht das «Wir beobachten euch, ihr beobachtet uns»-Lebensgefühl von einem, der zur Zeit des Kalten Krieges aufgewachsen ist; noch dazu im traumatisierten, zutiefst gekränkten Nachkriegsjapan, wo man schauen musste, wie man dem in Richtung Wohlstand rasenden Amerika mehr schlecht als recht hinterherhinkte. Und mal ehrlich: Hätten die Franzosen einen irren Manga-Meister in den heiligen Hallen von Versailles ausstellen lassen (2010), wenn der nicht perfekt über Delacroix, Courbet, Monet Bescheid wüsste?

 

«Superflat» nennt Murakami das, was all dies – vergoren, destilliert und bis zur Unkenntlichkeit aufgehübscht – amalgamiert. Ein Schelm, wer darin Ironie wittert. (Oder ists doch Sarkasmus?) Wie sonst sollte man ein süssstoffgetränktes Anime-Universum taufen, in dem alles auf reine Fassade macht? Und, Folgefrage: Was soll einer, der mit einer Armee hysterisch lächelnder Gänseblümchen in die Hochkultur einmarschiert, anderes tun, als sich eine Kommandozentrale zu errichten? Kaikai Kiki Co. nennt sich, einmal mehr kindlich-heiter, Takashi Murakamis Homebase, von wo aus er als hinterlistig grinsender General regiert – und dutzende Künstler, Animationsfilmer, Tontechniker, Designer und PR-Profis an einer Parallelwelt bauen lässt, in der das Fröhliche jeden Moment ins Schauderhafte zu kippen droht.

 

Kippt die Zentrale nun selbst, womöglich? Und wenn schon. Einen wie Murakami schwemmt so eine kleine Welle nicht weg. Der surft darauf! Oder er taucht darin ab, um noch schräger, schelmischer, provokativer wieder an die Oberfläche zu kommen. Dass er den dafür nötigen langen Atem hat, darüber besteht kein Zweifel: Mit Billie Eilish hat er unlängst nicht nur Klamotten designt, sondern auch ihren wohl besten Videoclip gestaltet. Für Kanye West tat er das Gleiche 2007 – da war Billie sechs.

Takashi Murakami
Takashi Murakami, «Untitled (Gold)», 1999, Acryl auf Leinwand, montiert auf Tafel, signiert und datiert, 203,20 × 203,20 cm