Book now
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
Editorial

20 minutes with Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg

As part of the Zurich Film Festival, Hollywood star Rebel Wilson and French actress Charlotte Gainsbourg visited the Dolder Grand. These eight questions offer insights into what the past few years have been like for Charlotte, who will be receiving the Golden Eye Award at this year’s festival, and also uncover a different, more serious side of Rebel.

By The Dolder Grand October. 03, 2022

In the interview

Your first film together, “The Almond and the Seahorse”, will be premiering at the Zurich Film Festival. The film is a bittersweet story about the biggest themes in life. It’s about blows of fate, true love, loss, and overcoming obstacles – themes that every human being will encounter at some point in their lives. Is that what attracted you to this story?

Rebel Wilson: It’s true that the film looks at very big and important topics in our lives. In essence, it’s about a traumatic brain injury that I sustain and the corresponding memory loss. And, of course, it’s about broken hearts and the pain that all of the characters experience as a result. When I read the script, I was immediately deeply touched. It was so beautifully written and very moving. The first time I read it, I started crying right away and I saw what a wonderful story it is. At the same time, I was surprised that the producers thought of me for something like this. But I’m so happy they did.

Charlotte Gainsbourg: I was also deeply moved by the story. Plus, I’m a big fan of Rebel, and I was immediately excited at the thought of telling a story like this with her. We filmed during the middle of the pandemic, which wasn’t easy, but it was very efficient. We only needed 21 days for the production of the entire film, which is extremely short. When I think about it, I was in quarantine for longer than I was on set for this film (laughs).

Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg

How would you sum up the film in a single sentence?

Rebel (thinks): Brain break and heartbreak.

Speaking of overcoming personal obstacles: Rebel, you recently came out by making your relationship with fashion designer Ramona Agruma public. You yourself said it was a difficult situation. Why did you decide to take this step after all? And what was it like for you?

Rebel: What made it difficult for me was that an Australian journalist practically forced me to make my relationship public. Normally, you get to do things like this on your own time. First you tell your family, then your closest friends, and I was about to do that. Then this journalist popped up and the pressure was enormous. He wanted to print the story as quickly as possible, which I felt was unfair. I was suddenly confronted with a kind of situation that I hadn’t expected. And that was the problem; not the relationship or coming out per se. I’m extremely proud and not at all ashamed. But we wanted to make this announcement when we were both ready.

Charlotte, in the film, you are fighting not only to help your partner recover from a traumatic brain injury, but also to save your relationship. Has the film given you a new perspective on love?

Charlotte: Not a new perspective, exactly, but it gave me an insight into what it would be like to be together with someone who suddenly no longer recognises you. You have to leave a relationship for no other reason than the fact that this person has amnesia. It’s difficult to grasp. This aspect, or this perspective, was very new to me. But not the aspect of love.

«The Almond and the Seahorse»

What does love mean to you in one word?

Rebel: Love is love.

We are living through a difficult time; many people are extremely afraid of the future. What has it been like for you? And how have current events (the pandemic, the war in Europe, etc.) affected you personally?

Rebel: I watch the news every day and I pay close attention. I am incredibly grateful and blessed to be in a privileged position. The images from Ukraine are very emotional, and I think of all the people there who are stuck in this horrible situation. Also the inflation and the recession that are affecting a number of countries are awful. I come from a typical working-class family, and I know how devastating these things can be. Hopefully, the pandemic is over, at least. You just hope that the world goes back to normal at some point. Preferably sooner rather than later.

Charlotte: There’s not much more for me to add. There are so many crises happening all at once right now. I’m also thinking about climate change. And a lot of this will mostly impact our children. I have an 11-year-old daughter. She already clearly realises what’s happening around the world. Often, everything seems so dark. Also the recent elections in Italy where the extreme right-wing candidate won – it’s painful. And then I look at all of the brave women in Ukraine, Russia and Iran; they are an example for all of us. I live a really lovely life in the chic city of Paris, and I don’t have to deal with anything even close to that. But these stories are very moving.

You have both been extremely successful for some time. Who comes to mind for you when you hear the word “success”?

Rebel: Charlotte, of course. She is rightly being honoured here at the Zurich Film Festival with the Golden Eye Award. I’ve seen so many of her films and I’ve always admired her.

Charlotte: For me, Rebel is in a whole other league. When you’re this big in Australia and the US, in my opinion, that’s a totally different story than mine. I live in a small country with a small film industry. It’s not the same. The bar is not as high for me.

Rebel: Okay, but apart from ourselves.

Charlotte: My daughter, who right at this moment of our interview is taking a math and history test.

Rebel: For me, the empowerment of so many women in the field of politics is a major success. In England, a woman is once again in power, the same is true in New Zealand. It’s been a long road, and we’re finally seeing some visible successes.

What’s your greatest wish for the future?

Charlotte: Simply to keep going and keep having the opportunity to work on exciting projects.

Rebel: I would absolutely love to be nominated for an Oscar one day. That would be incredible. When I was 18, I had a vision that I would one day win an Oscar. That’s the reason I started acting in the first place. Originally, acting was not the plan. Plus, next year I will be directing my first film, which has long been a dream of mine. On a personal level, I wish for peace and respect for all people.


Discover other Editorials
Editorial
More info
Crazy Christmas Countdown
Editorial
More info
Ronan Keating and his commitment
Editorial
More info
20 minutes with Rebel Wilson and Charlotte Gainsbourg

Book now
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
Editorial

20 Minuten mit Rebel Wilson und Charlotte Gainsbourg

Hollywood-Star Rebel Wilson und die französische Schauspielerin Charlotte Gainsbourg waren im Rahmen des Zurich Film Festivals zu Gast im Dolder Grand. Diese acht Fragen geben Einblicke in die vergangenen Jahre von Charlotte, die auf dem diesjährigen Festival mit dem Goldenen Auge ausgezeichnet wurde, und zeigen auch eine andere, ernstere Seite von der sonst so humorvollen Rebel.

By The Dolder Grand Oktober. 03, 2022

Im Interview

Ihr erster gemeinsamer Film «The Almond and the Seahorse» feiert am Zürich Film Festival Weltpremiere. Der Film thematisiert auf bittersüsse Art und Weise die ganz grossen Themen des Lebens. Es geht um Schicksalsschläge, die grosse Liebe, Verlust und das Überwinden von Grenzen, also Themen, mit denen jeder Mensch irgendwann in Berührung kommt. Hat Sie das an der Geschichte gereizt?

Rebel Wilson: Ja, der Film thematisiert in der Tat grosse und auch wichtige Lebensthemen. Im Kern geht es um ein Schädel-Hirn-Trauma, das ich erleide und einen damit verbundenen Gedächtnisverlust. Und natürlich geht es um gebrochene Herzen und grossen Schmerz, den alle Charaktere demzufolge haben. Als ich das Skript las, war ich gleich tief berührt. Es war wunderschön geschrieben, sehr bewegend. Ich habe beim ersten Lesen sofort geweint und gesehen, dass das eine wunderbare Geschichte ist. Gleichzeitig war ich überrascht, dass die Produzenten bei einem solchen Stoff an mich gedacht haben. Aber ich bin sehr glücklich, dass sie es getan haben.

Charlotte Gainsbourg: Auch ich war sehr bewegt von der Geschichte. Zudem bin ich ein grosser Fan von Rebel, und mit ihr eine solche Geschichte zu realisieren hat mich sofort begeistert. Die Dreharbeiten fanden mitten in der Pandemie statt, was nicht einfach, aber sehr effizient war. Für die Produktion des gesamten Films benötigten wir lediglich 21 Tage, was extrem wenig ist. Wenn ich überlege, war ich insgesamt länger in Quarantäne als am Set für diesen Film (lacht).

Rebel Wilson und Charlotte Gainsbourg

Wie würden Sie die Quintessenz des Films in einem Satz zusammenfassen?

Rebel (überlegt): brain break and heart break.

Stichpunkt Überwindung eigener Grenzen: Rebel, Sie haben kürzlich ihre Beziehung zu Modedesignerin Ramona Agruma öffentlich gemacht und sich damit geoutet. Sie sagten selbst, es sei für Sie eine schwierige Situation gewesen. Weshalb haben Sie sich trotzdem dafür entschieden? Und wie haben Sie diesen Schritt persönlich erlebt?

Rebel: Die Schwierigkeit lag für mich einzig darin, dass ich von einem australischen Journalisten praktisch dazu genötigt wurde, meine neue Beziehung öffentlich zu machen. Normalerweise hat man für so etwas ein eigenes Timing. Man erzählt es erstmal der Familie und den engsten Freunden, und ich war dabei, genau das zu tun. Dann kam dieser Journalist, und der Druck war enorm. Er wollte die Geschichte innerhalb kürzester Zeit bringen, was ich als sehr unfair empfand. Ich war plötzlich mit so einer Situation konfrontiert, mit der ich nicht gerechnet habe. Und genau da war das Problem, nicht die Beziehung oder das Coming-out an sich. Ich bin sehr stolz darauf und keinesfalls beschämt. Aber wir wollten es machen, wenn wir beide bereit dazu sind.

Charlotte, Sie kämpfen in der Geschichte um die Genesung Ihrer hirntraumaversehrten Partnerin und damit auch um Ihre Beziehung. Haben Sie durch den Film eine neue Sicht auf die Liebe bekommen?

Charlotte: Nicht wirklich eine neue Perspektive, aber es gab mir einen Einblick, wie es ist, mit jemandem zusammen zu sein, der dich plötzlich nicht mehr erkennt. Man muss aus einer Beziehung aussteigen ohne einen anderen Grund als den des Gedächtnisverlustes. Das kann man nur schwer begreifen. Dieser Aspekt bzw. diese Perspektive war sehr neu. Aber nicht der der Liebe.

«The Almond and the Seahorse»

Was bedeutet Liebe für Sie in einem Wort?

Rebel: Love is love.

Wir leben in herausfordernden Zeiten, viele Menschen leiden unter enormen Zukunftsängsten. Wie erleben Sie das? Und wie haben die aktuellen Vorkommnisse (Pandemie, Krieg in Europa etc.) Sie persönlich geprägt?

Rebel: Ich verfolge die Nachrichten täglich und sehr genau. Ich bin unglaublich dankbar und gesegnet in einer privilegierten Position zu sein. Die Bilder aus der Ukraine sind sehr bewegend und ich denke an all die Menschen dort, die dieser schrecklichen Situation ausgeliefert sind. Auch die Inflation und die Rezession, die viele Länder derzeit betrifft, sind schrecklich. Ich selber komme aus einer einfachen Familie und weiss, wie verheerend solche Ereignisse sein können. Hoffentlich ist wenigstens die Pandemie beendet. Man wünscht sich einfach, dass die Welt wieder in die Normalität findet. Und das lieber früher als später.

Charlotte: Ich kann dem nicht mehr viel hinzufügen. Es passieren derzeit so viele Krisen gleichzeitig. Ich denke da auch an die Klimakrise. Und vieles betrifft vor allem unsere Kinder. Ich habe eine 11-jährige Tochter. Sie realisiert bereits sehr klar, was alles auf der Welt passiert. Ich habe es als schwierig empfunden, ihnen die jetzige Welt und all die Geschehnisse zu erklären. Man empfindet oft alles sehr düster. Auch die momentanen Wahlen in Italien, die die extrem Rechten gewonnen haben; sind schmerzhaft. Und dann schaue ich auf die mutigen Frauen in der Ukraine, in Russland und im Iran; sie sind ein Beispiel dafür, was wir alle tun sollten. Ich lebe ein sehr schönes Leben im chicen Paris und muss nicht mal annähernd solche Schwierigkeiten bewältigen. Aber diese Schicksale sind bewegend.

Sie sind beide seit langer Zeit enorm erfolgreich. Wer kommt Ihnen selber in den Sinn, wenn Sie das Wort Erfolg hören?

Rebel: Ganz klar Charlotte. Sie wird hier am Zurich Film Festival zurecht mit dem Golden Eye Award ausgezeichnet. Ich habe so viele Filme mit ihr gesehen und sie immer bewundert.

Charlotte: Rebel spielt für mich in einer ganz anderen Liga. Wenn du in Australien und Amerika so gross bist ist das in meinen Augen eine ganz andere Geschichte als bei mir. Ich lebe in einem kleinen Land mit einer kleinen Filmindustrie. Das ist nicht das Gleiche. Die Messlatte ist eine andere.

Rebel: Ok, aber abgesehen von uns.
Charlotte: Meine Tochter, die gerade in diesem Moment des Interviews einen Mathe- und Geschichtstest schreibt. Sie wird in Zukunft ganz bestimmt erfolgreich.

Rebel: Für mich ist ganz klar auch das Empowerment vieler Fauen in der Politik ein grosser Erfolg. In England ist wieder eine Frau an der Spitze, ebenso in Neuseeland. Das war ein langer Weg, der jetzt endlich sichtbare Erfolge zeigt.

Ihr grösster Wunsch für die Zukunft?

Charlotte: Einfach so weitermachen und weiterhin die Möglichkeit haben, aufregende Projekte zu realisieren.

Rebel: Ich würde wahnsinnig gerne irgendwann für einen Oscar nominiert werden, das wäre unglaublich. Als ich 18 Jahre alt war, hatte ich die Vision, dass ich einmal einen Oscar erhalte. Deshalb habe ich überhaupt mit der Schauspielerei angefangen. Das war vorher nie geplant. Zudem führe ich nächstes Jahr erstmals selber Regie, womit sich bereits ein grosser Wunsch erfüllt. Auf persönlicher Ebene wünsche ich mir Frieden und Respekt für alle Menschen.


Weitere Editorials entdecken
Editorial
Mehr erfahren
Crazy Christmas Countdown
Editorial
Mehr erfahren
Ronan Keating und sein commitment
Editorial
Mehr erfahren
20 Minuten mit Rebel Wilson und Charlotte Gainsbourg