Book now
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Jani Leinonen
«Chapel of Remorse»

The «Chapel of Remorse» has found a new home in the Steinhalle of the Dolder Grand in Zurich. The piece is by Finnish artist Jani Leinonen, who was born in 1978 and today lives and works in Helsinki. The chapel was previously exhibited in Stalla Madulain, a 500-year-old barn in the region of Graubünden. The glass panels were painted in the Mayer’sche Hofkunstanstalt in Munich using traditional stained-glass techniques. However, what is now installed on the wall of the Dolder Grand is not only a set of stained-glass windows, but also a centuries-old chapel-like architectural composition, with the windows taking the form of a medieval Swiss barn. The glass work, which offers up pointed criticism of capitalism and the consumer society of today with its references to popular brand logos, is an outstanding example of how aesthetics and a biting critique of the prevailing system are not mutually exclusive concepts.

By Oli Freuler January. 11, 2021

The viewer’s response is thus initially one of amazement at the quality and artistry of the work, but the aesthetics of the installation also manipulate the eye. In the beauty of the light’s refraction in the glass, the provocation finds a quarantine space. Leinonen transforms the beholders into passive, controlled consumers.

The «Chapel of Remorse» can also be compared to a Christian reliquary shrine. The sacred is a leitmotif in Leinonen’s work, along with the tendency to toy with religious iconography. He had a Ronald McDonald figure crucified as part of his «McJesus» project in 2015; the Catholic Church and conservative politicians were up in arms about it at the time.

Jani Leinonen

Jani Leinonen graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki in 2002. His works have been exhibited in Finland and internationally, such as at the Nordic Pavilion of the 53rd Venice Biennale, Galerie Gmurzynska, the Wilhelm-Hack-Museum in Ludwigshafen, the Frankfurter Kunstverein, the ARoS Aarhus Art Museum and the Haifa Museum of Art. The artist became famous for his works in the public realm, in which he creates images and icons out of company logos, skilfully calling our economic order into question time and again. It often appears unclear whether Leinonen’s art is taking an ironic view of these symbols of the dazzling world of consumer goods, offering up a critique or making use of them only because of their iconic nature. His art probably does all of this at the same time.

«I don’t think I make art about politics. I think I make art about things that we all lie to ourselves about.»

«Anything Helps», 2011 Installation from «Beggar Sign», framed

By repeatedly working with the design and iconic representations of brands, Leinonen links the aesthetic with the political dimension, demonstrating just how closely society, consumption and art are interwoven with one another.

«Advertising and ads give a very superficial view of life dominated by the idea of ‘positive thinking’. However, the world they create on this basis exhibits quite a bit of psychopathy.»

On the one hand, Leinonen’s art is decorative, prudent, intelligent and deliberately designed to sell well; on the other hand, there is the drive to offer up a provocation, which keeps his art from being classified as kitsch. With the «Chapel of Remorse», the artist has created an intelligent and multifaceted work that reflects the current zeitgeist, which is characterised by consumption, pursuit of profit and social injustice. The chapel challenges the viewer to confront this reality.

«I make art about the scary feelings and truths we try to run away from. I don’t think we’ll ever be better as a human race until we stop running away from our own shame, guilt, hatred and sadness and instead face up to our own shortcomings and take responsibility for our own actions.»

«Smacks» 2010, Cereal packages

The «Chapel of Remorse» does not depict our society; instead, it imitates it, thus facilitating an intuitive approach to the work and the statement it makes. What’s more, the multilayered effect of the space makes it almost impossible for any distance to the work to arise – you are literally drawn into it.

Creative disobedience as a protest against the status quo, against state violence or inequality, has always been a motivation for artistic creation. In the mid-1930s, Pablo Picasso used brute, shrieking visual language to create a wall-sized painting as a protest against the bombing of the Basque town of Guernica. Diego Rivera produced paintings that portrayed the daily struggle of the Mexican working class. His 1932 fresco «Man at the Crossroads» was later destroyed by the Rockefellers after the work was branded as anti-capitalist propaganda. Eddie Adams’ famous 1968 photograph showing the execution of a Vietcong soldier demonstrated the political impact art can have, helping to bring attention to political and social problems and to mobilise resistance. Art puts forth questions – and also resorts to the means of provocation. It defies everything that seeks to confine and resists all barriers, whether psychological, creative or spatial.

As with many postmodern artists, Leinonen’s works require that the context of reception aesthetics from which the piece emerges always needs to be thought of as part of the artwork itself. With the luxurious exhibition venue in the Dolder Grand, Leinonen has given his work of art a second chapel as a symbolic superstructure. This circumstance can be viewed as a successful punchline, being that the artist’s critique of capitalism is now on display precisely where those who profit most from the current economic system come and go. The place thus represents an ideal bridgehead and inspiration to reflect on questions of poverty, wealth, consumption and belief and to enter into conversation with each other.

We Are Sorry (Black), 2013 Metal, plexiglas, neon lights

In addition to the «Chapel of Remorse», there is a remarkable collection of more than 100 works of art that can be viewed by international guests at the Dolder Grand, which has long been committed to its role as a patron of the arts. The inclusion of Leinonen’s chapel in the hotel’s treasure trove of unique art will certainly bring about new and rewarding opportunities for interpretation and resonance with the other objects on display. The fact that the artwork will also encourage reflection is certainly something entirely within the spirit of the artist’s intention.

ART AT THE DOLDER GRAND

Since the reopening of the Dolder Grand in 2008, over 100 works of art by prestigious artists have graced the premises of this luxury hotel in Zurich. The most striking piece is arguably Andy Warhol’s «Big Retrospective Painting», spanning 11 metres, which takes pride of place above the reception. Experience art at the Dolder Grand!

Book now
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Jani Leinonen
«Chapel of Remorse»

Die «Chapel of Remorse» des finnischen Künstlers Jani Leinonen (geb. 1978, lebt und arbeitet in Helsinki) hat in der Steinhalle des Hotels Dolder Grand in Zürich ein neues Zuhause gefunden.
Zuvor wurde die Kapelle in der 500 Jahre alten Scheune Stalla Madulain im Bündnerland gezeigt. Die Glastafeln wurden in der Mayer’schen Hofkunstanstalt in München in alter Glasmalerei-Technik bemalt. Was jetzt an der Wand des Dolder Grand installiert ist, sind jedoch nicht nur die Glasmalereien, sondern auch die jahrhundertealte kapellenartige architektonische Komposition und die Formen der Fenster einer mittelalterlichen Schweizer Scheune. Die Glasarbeit, die mit ihren Bezügen zu populären Markenlogos den Kapitalismus und die heutige Konsumgesellschaft pointiert kritisiert, ist ein herausragendes Beispiel dafür, das sich Ästhetik und bissige Systemkritik nicht ausschliessen.

By Oli Freuler Januar. 11, 2021

Die Reaktion der Betrachtenden ist so auch zunächst ein Staunen über die Qualität und Kunstfertigkeit des Werkes. Die Ästhetik der Installation aber manipuliert das Auge. Die Provokation findet in der Schönheit des Lichtbruchs im Glas einen Quarantäneraum. Die Betrachtenden werden von Leinonen zu passiven, kontrollierten Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten gemacht.

Die «Chapel of Remorse» lässt ferner den Vergleich mit einem christlichen Reliquienschrein zu. Das Sakrale und das Spiel mit religiösen Symbolen ist in Leinonens Werk ein Leitmotiv. 2015 liess er eine Ronald-McDonald-Figur im Rahmen seines Projekts «McJesus» kreuzigen, die katholische Kirche und konservative Politikerinnen und Politiker liefen Sturm gegen die Kunstaktion.

Jani Leinonen

Jani Leinonen schloss 2002 sein Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Helsinki ab. Seine Werke wurden in Finnland und international ausgestellt, u. a. im Nordischen Pavillon der 53. Biennale von Venedig, in der Galerie Gmurzynska, im Wilhelm-Hack-Museum Ludwigshafen, im Frankfurter Kunstverein, im ARoS Aarhus Art Museum und im Haifa Art Museum. Berühmt wurde der Künstler für seine Arbeiten im öffentlichen Raum, in denen er Bilder und Ikonen aus Firmenlogos erstellt und so unsere Wirtschaftsordnung immer wieder geschickt zur Disposition stellt. Oft erscheint es unklar, ob Leinonens Kunst diese Symbole der schillernden Gebrauchsgüterwelt ironisiert, kritisiert oder sie nur aufgrund ihrer Ikonizität einsetzt. Wahrscheinlich tut sie all dies gleichzeitig.

«Ich denke nicht, dass ich Kunst über Politik mache. Ich denke, ich mache Kunst über die Dinge, über die wir uns alle selbst belügen.»

«Anything Helps», 2011 Installation von «Beggar Sign», gerahmt

Indem Leinonen immer wieder mit dem Design und ikonischen Darstellungen von Marken arbeitet, verbindet er die ästhetische Dimension mit dem Politischen und zeigt so, wie eng Gesellschaft, Konsum und Kunst miteinander verwoben sind.

«Werbung und Anzeigen geben eine sehr oberflächliche ‹positiv denkende› Sicht auf das Leben. Die Welt, die dadurch geschaffen wird, ist jedoch sehr psychopathisch.»

Leinonens Kunst ist einerseits dekorativ, sorgfältig, intelligent und bewusst gut verkäuflich gestaltet, andererseits gibt es diesen Drang zur Provokation, was seine Kunst vor der Klassifizierung als Kitsch bewahrt. Der Finne hat mit der «Chapel of Remorse» ein intelligentes und vielschichtiges Werk geschaffen, das den aktuellen Zeitgeist widerspiegelt, der von Konsum, Gewinnstreben und sozialer Ungerechtigkeit geprägt ist. Die Kapelle fordert die Betrachtenden heraus, sich dieser Realität zu stellen.

«Ich mache Kunst über die unheimlichen Gefühle und Wahrheiten, vor denen wir versuchen wegzulaufen. Ich denke, dass wir als menschliche Rasse niemals besser sein werden, bevor wir nicht aufhören, vor unserer eigenen Scham, Schuld, Hass und Traurigkeit wegzulaufen und uns unseren eigenen Unzulänglichkeiten stellen und die Verantwortung für unser eigenes Handeln übernehmen.»

«Smacks» 2010, Cereal packages, Acryl auf Verpackung

Die «Chapel of Remorse» bildet unsere Gesellschaft nicht ab, sie imitiert sie und erlaubt so einen intuitiven Zugang zu Werk und Aussage. Mehr noch: Durch die vielschichtige Wirkung des Raumes ist es kaum möglich, Distanz zum Werk aufbauen. Man wird förmlich davon eingesogen.

Schöpferischer Ungehorsam als Protest gegen den Status quo, gegen staatliche Gewalt oder Ungleichheit, war schon immer eine Motivation künstlerischen Schaffens. Mitte der 1930er Jahre malte Pablo Picasso das wandfüllende Protestbild gegen die Bombardierung der baskischen Stadt Guernica in einer brachialen, schreienden Bildsprache. Diego Rivera erschuf Gemälde, die den täglichen Kampf der mexikanischen Arbeiterklasse portraitierten. Sein Fresko «Man at the Crossroads» von 1932 wurde später von den Rockefellers zerstört, nachdem das Werk als antikapitalistische Propaganda gebrandmarkt worden war. Eddie Adams’ berühmte Fotografie von 1968, welche die Exekution eines Vietcong-Soldaten zeigt, hat bewiesen, welche politische Wirkmächtigkeit Kunst besitzen kann. Sie trägt dazu bei, Aufmerksamkeit für politische und gesellschaftliche Probleme herzustellen und Widerstand zu mobilisieren. Kunst stellt Fragen – auch mit den Mitteln der Provokation. Sie wendet sich gegen alles Einengende, gegen psychische, gestalterische und räumliche Schranken.

Wie bei vielen postmodernen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, muss bei Leinonen der rezeptionsästhetische Kontext, in dem seine Kunst stattfindet, immer als Teil des Kunstwerkes selbst mitgedacht werden. Der Finne hat mit dem luxuriösen Ausstellungsort im Dolder-Hotel seinem Kunstwerk eine zweite Kapelle als symbolischen Überbau spendiert. Es kann als geglückte Pointe gesehen werden, dass Leinonens Kapitalismuskritik jetzt genau dort stattfindet, wo jene ein- und ausgehen, welche am meisten vom derzeitigen Wirtschaftssystem profitieren. Der Ort ist so ein idealer Brückenschlag und ein Angebot, über Fragen von Armut, Reichtum, Konsum und Glauben nachzudenken und miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen.

We Are Sorry (Black), 2013 Metal, plexiglas, neon lights

Neben der «Chapel of Remorse» verfügt das Dolder Grand, das sich seit langem für die Förderung der Künste engagiert, über eine beachtliche Sammlung von über 100 Kunstwerken, welche von den internationalen Gästen in Augenschein genommen werden können. Die Aufnahme Leinonens Kapelle in den Schatz des Hotels wird gewiss für neue Deutungsmöglichkeiten und bereichernde Resonanzen mit den anderen Exponaten sorgen. Dass das Kunstwerk über dies auch zur Reflexion anregen wird, ist sicherlich ganz im Sinne des Künstlers.

KUNST IM DOLDER GRAND

Seit der Wiedereröffnung des Dolder Grand 2008 bereichern über 100 namhafte Kunstwerke die Räumlichkeiten des Zürcher Luxushotels. Als wohl markantestes Stück thront Andy Warhols elf Meter breites «Big Retrospective Painting» über der Reception. Erleben Sie die Kunst im Dolder Grand!