Book now
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Lisa Bader on her master’s degree, reading people
and milk

One month after being named the 2021 Sommelier of the Year by GaultMillau Switzerland, Lisa Bader is slowly getting used to her new title. She remembers the moment she won like it was yesterday: “I was overjoyed! Just really, really delighted.” It was something she had been hoping would happen for quite some time. “This award is real recognition for all my hard work, and for the whole team at the Dolder Grand.” Lisa has worked at the Zurich City Resort as Head Sommelier since 2017. Being recognised for her work by someone like Urs Heller, the publisher of the GaultMillau guide, makes her especially proud – and it is also a sign that female sommeliers can also make it to the top.

By Adriana Zilic,
PR The Dolder Grand
December. 01, 2020

In 2018, Lisa was awarded the title of Sommelier of the Year by “Bilanz” magazine, and she placed second on the GaultMillau Switzerland list of top sommeliers in the same year. She is now 30 years old, and she is still hungry for more.

AS STRAIGHTFORWARD AS A GOOD RIESLING
Journalists have described the German-born sommelier as a “quiet and calm” person who demonstrates a great deal of “passion, ambition, expertise and curiosity”. Anyone who talks to Lisa Bader quickly recognises the drive and diligence with which she pursues her goals. She has a real sense of self-assurance. At work, she takes a very straightforward approach, similar to a Riesling. She is not a fan of delays and always plans everything out. And she takes the same approach to her private life.
The svelte sommelier was born in Baden-Württemberg, Germany, in the town of Kuppenheim near Karlsruhe. After graduating from school with excellent grades, she completed her bachelor’s degree in Hotel and Event Management at the Swiss Hotel Management School (SHMS) in Montreux – abandoning her initial plans to study medicine. “I think I would have become emotionally desensitised over time,” she says, pointing out that it is important to do what makes you happy. Her passion for excellent wine led her to complete her training as a certified sommelier in Koblenz. She abandoned her plans once again – this time deciding not to pursue a career in event marketing. As she would later realise, it was definitely the right decision.

Perfect wine pairings – for every course

PERFECT WINE PAIRINGS – FOR EVERY COURSE
After turning 26, she took on her first head sommelier job at the award-winning Gesellschaftshaus Palmengarten. She joined Heiko Nieder’s team at The Restaurant in 2017, where she works meticulously to ensure the perfect wine pairing. For every single course. And that is no easy task – a meal can consist of six to ten courses. Her mission is to “find a selection of fascinating wines from different regions, made with different grape varieties and using different methods, that work perfectly with each dish.” It’s not an easy job. But Lisa Bader is someone who loves a challenge.

«OUR SENSE OF TASTE IS OUR MOST IMPORTANT ASSET»
Her next goal is to complete the qualification as a Master Sommelier at the Court of Master Sommeliers in London. Only 267 people hold this very prestigious title. That’s 267 people in the world. She is currently at the Advanced level, and plans to complete the qualification in around four years’ time. It’s a tall order, but Lisa is confident: “I love gaining new knowledge and learning new skills.” And she isn’t worried if it does take a little longer than planned. The exams are very difficult, and they cover a huge range of topics, from geography to economics. Candidates also have to demonstrate that they are experts in pairing wine, tea and coffee, and that they have the necessary knowledge of cigars, and much more. This means she spends her days testing, tasting and guessing: “Our sense of taste is our most important asset,” she says. But her favourite drink is something a bit less extravagant: fresh milk.

The Dolder Grand, The Restaurant

WINE CONSULTATIONS BY PHONE
Over the years, she has also learned how to read people: “The initial impression I get of someone is mostly pretty accurate, so I usually know exactly what our guests want when they enter the restaurant,” she explains. She even takes note of things like the way they walk. This makes it much easier for her to read each guest and serve them wine that will meet their expectations. And, if her choice doesn’t suit a guest’s taste (which doesn’t happen very often), she asks them openly and directly what they would prefer. Her friends and family also benefit from her expertise and experience. “My mum and my doctor, who loves cooking in his spare time, often call me to ask for a wine recommendation.”
In her own spare time, you might find her at the Bar am Wasser or Tales Bar in Zurich, sampling something from their excellent drinks menus. She also works out almost every day to burn off “stress and negative energy”. When she needs a bit of peace and quiet and time to herself, she goes hiking or spends the day at home. “Sometimes I really love just having the chance to have a lie-in or sit on the sofa watching Netflix.” That doesn’t happen often, though

ONCE A SOMMELIER, ALWAYS A SOMMELIER
Her boyfriend, Thomas Bissegger, is a chef at the Michelin-starred restaurant 1904 Designed by Lagonda in Zurich. They have been together for six months, and she describes him as “also very ambitious and strong-willed”, which can sometimes cause conflict between them. “But we are a good team – we both motivate and support each other.” She couldn’t imagine being with anyone else: “I also haven’t ruled out the idea of starting a family.” What she has ruled out is the idea of being anything other than a sommelier. “There is no end to the knowledge you can gain and the things you can learn. That’s what I love about it.”

Book now
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Lisa Bader über ihren Master, Menschenkenntnisse
und Milch

Einen Monat nach der Ernennung zum «Sommelier des Jahres 2021» von Gault Millau Schweiz hat sich Lisa Bader allmählich an ihren neuen Titel gewöhnt. An den Moment, als sie davon erfahren hat, erinnert sie sich noch genau: «Ich war überglücklich und habe mich unglaublich gefreut.» Etwas darauf gewartet und gehofft habe sie ja schon. «Die Auszeichnung ist eine sehr grosse Anerkennung für meine geleistete Arbeit – und für das gesamte Dolder Grand.» Im Zürcher City Resort arbeitet sie seit 2017 als Head Sommelière. Gerade von einer Grösse wie Urs Heller, dem Herausgeber des Restaurantführers, ausgezeichnet zu werden, erfülle sie mit sehr viel Stolz. Und es sei ein Zeichen, dass es auch weibliche Sommeliers an die Spitze schaffen können.

By Adriana Zilic,
PR The Dolder Grand
Dezember. 01, 2020

Bereits im Jahr 2018 kürte die «Bilanz» Lisa Bader zum «Sommelier des Jahres», und im selben Jahr wurde sie von Gault Millau Schweiz zur zweitbesten Sommelière im Land gewählt. Doch die 30-Jährige will noch mehr.

GERADLINIG WIE EIN RIESLING
Fachjournalisten beschreiben die gebürtige Deutsche als «ruhig und unerschrocken», sie überzeuge mit «Leidenschaft, Ehrgeiz, Fachwissen und Neugierde». Und tatsächlich: Wer sich mit Lisa Bader unterhält, erkennt schnell ihren Ansporn und die Gewissenhaftigkeit, mit der sie ihre Ziele verfolgt. Von Unsicherheit keine Spur. Bei der Arbeit legt sie eine Geradlinigkeit an den Tag, die mit jener eines Rieslings vergleichbar ist. Verzögerungen und Planlosigkeit mag sie nicht. Das gilt fürs Berufliche genauso wie fürs Private.
Die zierliche Sommelière kommt 1990 im badischen Kuppenheim, nahe Karlsruhe, zur Welt. Auf das Abitur mit ausgezeichneten Noten folgt das Bachelorstudium im internationalen Hotel- und Eventmanagement an der Swiss Hotel Management School (SHMS) in Montreux. Sie entscheidet sich damit explizit gegen das geplante Medizinstudium. «Ich wäre mit der Zeit emotional abgestumpft.» Letzten Endes zählt, was glücklich macht, sagt sie sich. Die Leidenschaft für guten Wein führt sie schliesslich zu einer Ausbildung zur zertifizierten Sommelière in Koblenz. Ihre ursprünglichen Pläne, dereinst im Eventmarketing zu arbeiten, ändert sie abermals. Eine Entscheidung, die sich später als Glücksgriff erweisen sollte.

Perfektes Weinpairing – Gang für Gang

PERFEKTES WEINPAIRING – GANG FÜR GANG
Mit 26 Jahren tritt sie bereits ihre erste Stelle als Chefsommelière im preisgekrönten «Gesellschaftshaus Palmengarten» an. Seit 2017 ist sie in Heiko Nieders Team des The Restaurant. Hier achtet sie minutiös auf das perfekte Weinpairing. Und das zu jedem einzelnen Gang. Ein Menü kann dabei aus sechs bis zehn Gängen bestehen. Ihre Mission: aus «unterschiedlichen Traubensorten, Herkunftsregionen und Macharten abwechslungsreiche, interessante und passende Weine finden». Keine einfache Aufgabe. Aber Lisa Bader mag Herausforderungen.

«DER GESCHMACKSSINN IST UNSER KAPITAL»
Als nächstes Ziel peilt sie den «Master Sommelier» am Court of Master Sommeliers in London an. Dem erlauchten Kreis gehören heuer gerade mal 267 Mitglieder an. Weltweit. Aktuell befindet sie sich auf der Stufe «Advanced». In etwa vier Jahren will sie sich auch Master Sommelier nennen können. Ein sportliches Vorhaben, aber Bader ist guter Dinge: «Ich weiss gerne viel und lerne gerne.» Und falls es etwas länger dauern sollte, sei das auch okay, findet sie. Die Prüfungen sind sehr anspruchsvoll, und der Themenbereich ist umfangreich. Von Geografie bis Ökonomie kann alles vorkommen. Auch müssen sich die Kandidaten im Pairing von Wein, Tee und Kaffee beweisen und die Eigenschaften von Zigarren und vielem mehr kennen. Dazu kostet, errät und probiert sie täglich: «Der Geschmackssinn ist unser Kapital», sagt sie. Frische Kuhmilch möge sie aber immer noch am liebsten.

The Dolder Grand, The Restaurant

WEINBERATUNG PER ANRUF
Im Laufe der Zeit hat sie auch ein sehr gutes Gespür für den Gast entwickelt: «Ich merke sehr schnell, wie er aufgelegt ist, wenn er zu uns ins Restaurant kommt», erklärt sie. An der Gangart etwa. Das erleichtere es ihr, ihn richtig einzuschätzen und den passenden Wein zu servieren. Und wenn sie seinen Geschmack einmal nicht trifft – was selten vorkommt –, fragt sie offen und direkt. Ihr Fachwissen und ihre Erfahrung weiss übrigens auch ihr privates Umfeld zu schätzen: «Meine Mutter und mein Arzt – ein Hobbykoch – rufen mich regelmässig an und bitten mich um eine Weinempfehlung.»
Wenn sie gerade einmal nicht arbeitet, trifft man sie in der «Bar am Wasser» oder der «Tales Bar» in Zürich an, die sie wegen ihrer Auswahl an Drinks schätzt. Dazu macht Lisa Bader nahezu täglich Sport, «um Stress und negative Energie abzubauen». Braucht sie Ruhe und Zeit für sich, geht sie wandern oder verbringt den Tag zu Hause: «Ich freue mich wie ein Keks, wenn ich einfach mal ausschlafen oder auf dem Sofa Netflix schauen kann.» Das komme aber selten vor.

EINMAL SOMMELIÈRE, IMMER SOMMELIÈRE
Ihren Freund – übrigens Sternekoch im «1904 Designed by Lagonda» in Zürich, Thomas Bissegger ¬–, mit dem sie seit einem halben Jahr zusammen ist, beschreibt sie wie sich selbst als «sehr ehrgeizig und charakterstark», was gelegentlich zu Reibungen führe. «Aber wir beide brauchen diesen gegenseitigen Antrieb und die Unterstützung.» Jemand anderes an ihrer Seite käme für sie auch nicht in Frage, sagt Lisa Bader. «Und wenn es sich ergibt, kann ich mir auch eine Familie sehr gut vorstellen.» Ein Leben nach ihrem Beruf als Sommelière indes nicht: «Das Wissen und das Lernpotenzial eines Sommeliers sind schier unerschöpflich. Das ist auch das Schöne daran.»