Book now
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Rooms & Suites
Online Booking
Spa Online Booking
Buy Online Voucher
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Christian Hümbs, what does love taste like?

Christian Hümbs, what does love taste like?
Science has spent years researching it, but the Executive Pastry Chef knows it from his daily work: “Tastes differ. There are an infinite number of ways to interpret love,” says Christian Hümbs. On Valentine’s Day, everything in the Dolder Grand is about big feelings.

By ADRIANA ZILIC, PR THE DOLDER GRAND February. 03, 2021

As the saying goes: “It’s all a question of taste.” According to science, every person experiences tastes differently – and we can recognise thousands of them. Our sense cells have sensors for four general flavours: salty, sweet, sour and bitter. While the first two are seen as positive, we associate the last two with danger or something rotten. Everything else is communicated to us by our sense of smell. Smell and taste have a strong impact on us and control our feelings and reactions – and those of animals. These flavours were only recently joined by a fifth: umami, which describes something spicy or aromatic, like cheese.

Love is like a raspberry

Love is the key ingredient
So what does one of the biggest emotions that humans have ever felt taste like? What does love taste like? Christian Hümbs, Executive Pastry Chef at the Dolder Grand, is definite: “It tastes of raspberries and it’s red! There’s sweetness and a bit of acidity in it. They go really well together.” His favourite fruit reflects everything – in regard to love, with all its bumps and corners, everything doesn’t always run smoothly. Champagne is also an ideal “ingredient for love”. This year’s Valentine’s Day menu in the Saltz restaurant therefore includes a rosé sorbet.
The 39-year-old considers love to be one of the key ingredients in his work: “It’s part of what a patissier does every day, not just on 14 February.” Without feelings and love, nothing works, he says.

Christian Hümbs
Christian Hümbs, pastry chef at the Dolder Grand

Sweet and mild or a bit spicy?
When it comes to taste, he’s one of the experts. Christian Hümbs has made a name for himself with his uniquely flavoured desserts, some of which even contain vegetables. Which vegetables would you include? How about pepperoncini or bell peppers? After all, passion and desire play their part in love too. The experienced patissier considers the questions and replies: “Vegetables would be complicated, but feasible. One is hot, while the other has a mild sweetness.” Figuratively speaking, this combination would signify an exciting love life, he adds with a smile.

Holiday or home-made favourite meal
And what would Christian Hümbs give for Valentine’s Day? “A holiday together,” he says. Holidays and time together are rare in the restaurant business, and hence incredibly special. Given the current situation, he’d rather stay at home and have a romantic dinner: “The other person’s favourite meal – home-made, of course,” he replies. Ultimately, though, he doesn’t need a specific day to tell someone that he loves him or her. That should happen every day of the year, Hümbs says, getting to the heart of one of the most important recipes for a happy partnership.


All About Love
Loading...
Loading...

Book now
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Zimmer & Suiten
Online Buchung
Spa Online Booking
Gutschein kaufen
Choose language
EnglishDeutsch
  • a
Editorial

Christian Hümbs, wie schmeckt Liebe?

Was die Wissenschaft jahrelang erforscht hat, kennt der Chef Patissier aus seiner täglichen Arbeit: «Geschmäcker sind verschieden. Gerade die Liebe kann auf unzählige Arten interpretiert werden», sagt Christian Hümbs. Zum Valentinstag dreht sich im Dolder Grand alles um grosse Gefühle.

By ADRIANA ZILIC, PR THE DOLDER GRAND Februar. 03, 2021

Wie heisst es so schön? «Alles Geschmackssache.» Der Wissenschaft zufolge nimmt jeder Mensch die Geschmäcke – von denen wir übrigens Tausende ausmachen können – anders wahr. Unsere Sinneszellen besitzen Sensoren für vier allgemeine Geschmacksrichtungen: salzig, süss, sauer und bitter. Während die ersten zwei als positiv gewertet werden, verbinden wir die letzten beiden mit Gefahr oder Verdorbenem. Alles andere macht der Geruchssinn. Geruch und Geschmack beeinflussen uns stark und steuern unsere Gefühle und Reaktionen – und jene von Tieren. Seit nicht allzu langer Zeit gesellt sich eine fünfte Geschmacksrichtung hinzu: umami. Es beschreibt Würziges oder Aromatisches wie etwa Käse.

Liebe ist wie eine Himbeere

Liebe als wichtigste Zutat
Wie also schmeckt eine der grössten Emotionen seit Menschengedenken? Wie schmeckt die Liebe? Für Christian Hümbs, Chef Patissier im Dolder Grand, ist klar: «Sie schmeckt nach Himbeere und ist rot! Da ist die Süsse und da ist die Säure drin. Das passt ganz gut zusammen.» Seine Lieblingsfrucht spiegele alles wider: In der Liebe mit all ihren Ecken und Kanten laufe ja auch nicht alles rund. Auch Champagner eigne sich hervorragend als «Liebeszutat». So steht zu Valentinstag dieses Jahr ein Rosé-Sorbet auf der Menükarte im Restaurant Saltz.
Der 39-Jährige zählt die Liebe denn auch zu den wichtigsten Ingredienzen seiner Arbeit: «Bei uns in der Patisserie spielt sie jeden Tag eine Rolle – nicht nur am 14. Februar». Ohne Gefühl und Liebe gehe nichts, betont er.

Christian Hümbs
Christian Hümbs, Chef Patissier im Dolder Grand

Süss und mild oder doch pikant?
Wenn es um Geschmack geht, gehört er zu den Experten. Christian Hümbs machte sich mit seinen zuweilen eigenwilligen Aromen fürs Dessert, das auch Gemüse enthalten kann, einen Namen. Welches Gemüse liesse sich also einbinden? Wie wärs mit Peperoncini oder Paprika? Schliesslich spielen auch Leidenschaft und Verlangen beim Thema Liebe eine Rolle. Der Routinier überlegt und antwortet: «Gemüse ist da eher schwierig, aber machbar. Während die eine scharf ist, bringt die andere milde Süsse mit». Bildlich gesprochen stehe diese Kombination ja für ein aufregendes Liebesleben, fügt er mit einem Schmunzeln an.

Urlaub oder selbstgekochtes Lieblingsgericht
Und was würde Christian Hümbs zum Valentinstag schenken? «Gemeinsame Ferien», sagt er. Denn Ferien und Zeit zu zweit seien selten in der Gastronomie und darum so besonders. Angesichts der aktuellen Lage werde es wohl eher bei einem romantischen Dinner bleiben: «Das Lieblingsgericht des anderen – und selbst gekocht natürlich», antwortet er. Eigentlich brauche er aber keinen bestimmten Tag, um jemandem zu sagen, dass er ihn oder sie liebe. Das sollte 365 Tage im Jahr passieren, findet Hümbs zum Schluss – und bringt damit wohl eines der wichtigsten Rezepte für eine glückliche Partnerschaft auf den Punkt.


All About Love
Loading...
Loading...